Mini Book Reviews

So for the past month, I’ve basically been a reading machine. I can’t remember the last time I’ve been so excited about everything I’m reading, It feels amazing but with that I’ve been lacking on my reviews, so here’s some mini reviews for the last 5 books I’ve read!

mini reviews.JPG

 

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

  • Birth rates are declining and the United States government has fallen. Offred, our main character, is among the women that have viable ovaries. So she’s been placed with a Commander and is wife, in hopes that she will bare a child for them. We follow her journey, and it’s not an easy one. This book took me almost two weeks to read, and not because I wasn’t enjoying it. The content just makes it really difficult to read, especially when you see a lot the similarities to our reality. An extremely important read, that opens up a lot of discussion.
    • Favorite Quote: “I am not your justification for existence.”

 Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

  • So after reading The Handmaid’s Tale, I needed something super light and fun. Queens of Geek follows three friends attending a Comic Con like convention. I read this in one sitting, although it’s super cheesy and made me roll my eyes a lot, it’s super addicting. A lot of fun ~nerdy~ references, and great diversity. Asian Bi main character, and another main character on the Autism spectrum. At one point a character  was talking about their anxiety, and it hit so close to home. Although this book could be super cheesy, it discussed some pretty important topics and was super fun.
    • Favorite Quote: “I know I’ll never be able to control what other people think. It’s not my job to convince others of who I am. My only job is to be happy.  All I can do is find what makes me happy, and live it.”

Station Eleven but Emily St. John Mandel

  • This book is all about human resilience. A super bug wipes out most of the population on earth, follows a traveling theater group 20 years after the epidemic. Station Eleven is very much about survival and rebuilding what was lost, but it’s such a different take on a “dystopian” novel. That’s all I really want to say about this, because it’s one of those books where knowing almost nothing about it enhances the reading experience.
    • Favorite Quote: “Hell is the absence of the people you long for.” 

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas.

  • Okay I can’t say too much about this book, since it’s the last book in a series but let’s just say it was amazing and I already want to re-read this series. The first book (A Court of Thrones and Roses) follows Feyre after she kills what she thinks is a wolf, but is actually a Fae (fairy) and her punishment is to be held captive by a high Fae. It has a lot of beauty and the beast vibes, and is just one of my favorite series.
    • Favorite Quote: “What we think to be our greatest weakness can sometimes be our biggest strength.”

Far, Far Away by Tom McNeal

  • This book was a lot different than I expected it to be. Nothing really happens until the last 100 pages, so most of the book is just building up to the action. The book follows Jeremy who has an uncanny ability to hear ghosts, he can’t see them but can only speak to and hear them. One of these ghosts, Jacob Grimm, has taken a special interest in Jeremy. Having one of the Grimm brothers narrate this book helps tie in the melancholy fairy tale atmosphere.
    • Favorite Quote: “Sometimes avoiding something can give it more and more meaning rather than less and less.”

 

 

2 thoughts on “Mini Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

