Top 5 Wednesday: Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump

I’ve been an outsider looking in to the online book community for awhile, and Top 5 Wednesday has always been my favorite booktube videos/book blog posts to watch and read about. So I’m excited to finally take part in this weekly book meme started by Lainey from gingerreadsalainey on youtube. The group is currently run by Sam from thoughtsontomes on youtube. You can find the link for the group on goodreads here: https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/118368-top-5-wednesday

top51

Okay so this weeks topic is five books to get you out of a reading slump! I think this is a great topic for me to start top five wednesday with because I’m definitely the kind of person that can go through several reading slumps throughout the year (these are in no particular order)

  1. Harry Potter (or an old favorite you’ve read countless times)
    • The thing about Harry Potter is that it’s so familiar to me that I can easily settle into the story. When I’m feeling slumpy, it’s nice to have a book I can read in a day or two and know I’m going to enjoy every second of it.
  2. A graphic novel or Comic
    •  You can read these in under an hour and when you’ve gone days (maybe weeks) without reading anything, it’s so nice to be able to start and finish SOMETHING. I always make sure to have at least one of these available to me because after finishing one, I feel accomplished and want to keep that feeling by starting a new book.
  3. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
    • This book is super fast paced and so much fun, I couldn’t put it down! It’s basically a video game in book form and you really feel like you’re experiencing everything the characters are.
  4. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
    • Okay this book got be out of a year long reading slump. Yep you heard that right, a whole year of barely reading anything. I picked this book up and stayed up until the wee hours of the morning to finish it. I hadn’t done that in so long, and after that my reading habits ruined to normal. This book makes me so happy, and I think it could get anyone out of a reading slump!
  5. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas
    • Soooo… this book is a sequel and like 800 pages long BUT it’s so addicting. The characters are great, the plot is fast paced and dramatic. I love this series and if you’re looking for a fun, dramatic fantasy to dive into this might be a good fit!

top5

Leave a Reply

