The Sun is Also A Star review

img_5226

Short Summary:

The Sun is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon follows two teenagers in New York City that develop a deep connection through a series of coincidences. On the day Natasha’s family is to be deported back to Jamaica she meets Daniel who is on his way to an interview for Yale. Yoon takes all the cliches of a YA contemporary romance and weaves together a beautiful story about first love, strained family relationships, immigration, and how fate might not just be a fools wish.

Favorite Quote: “We are capable of big lives. A big history. Why settle? Why choose the practical things, the mundane thing? We are born to dream and make the things we dream about.”

Spoiler-Free Thoughts:

Honestly this book took me by surprise, if it hadn’t been highly praised by opinions I trusted I probably would not have picked this up. The older I get the less YA contemporary appeals to me but I’m so happy I gave this book a chance.Okay so this book was so insta-lovey, I’m surprised my eyes are still intact after rolling them constantly. That’s not necessarily a critique though, I mean I knew going in it would be that way. There’s no way you can take a one day romance and not make it insta-lovey. Though this book made my heart smile and break simultaneously. I think what made me love this book so much is that we’d occasionally get chapters from the perspective of outsiders. Like Natasha’s encounter with a security guard (my personal fav) or chapters from Daniel’s and Natasha’s families. It was a great reminder that our actions, whether big or small, impact the people around us. I really respected the diversity of this book and how it dealt with an issues many American families deal with. I felt Natasha’s desperation of not wanting to be deported and the pressures Daniel felt from being the son of South Korean immigrants and a first generation American. So props to Yoon for writing diversely about topics you rarely see in YA literature. I will definitely be reading anything else she writes.

Leave a Reply

